Capital adventures

By marchmont

Sunset

I haven't photographed a sunset for ages. Probably not since Langkawi last June. But the fantastic weather made me yearn for a sunset over the sea. Here, the sun disappears of the back garden by 5 and I'm stuck with a choice of the living room with the window open or heading to the Meadows with the students. Even although I get a bit stir crazy I have yet to do the latter.

But today was a day of out and about. First to church and then to buy some more garden stuff. I now have 3 planters on the landing for salad leaves, spring onions and tomatoes. I am getting carried away with all this gardening. It really is a back green, not Chelsea (I wonder if they'd have a back green garden at Chelsea?). Then relaxing on the lounger with a salad and a glass (or two) of rose and a gossip with Caterina who as it happend had a holiday in Malaysia earlier this year so we exchanged memories about KL and ... Langkawi. I am getting nicely brown in advance of Majorca. Bye bye white legs. Once the sun had gone over the roof I scattered the slug pellets and planted up my planters.

Then it was off on a jaunt. I've driven so rarely in this area that I've lost track of where roads go now and ended up meandering through the back roads of Muselburgh, Cockenzie and Port Seton. The remnants of the marathon crash barriers were being picked up. Must have so hot for the runners. But eventually I made it to my planned destination of North Berwick where, even although it was after 8 there were still people on the beach and even in the sea. I walked along the East Beach to the bit where I spent so many happy holidays, over half a century ago. We used to walk down the Glen with all the gear for the day. The highlight was a strawberry Luca's ice cream from the purple and white van. I learned to swim in the sea there.

Reminiscences over it was fish and chips while watching the sun go down over the Harbour, and the little dog running up and down the beach playing ball.

On the way home I stopped to take more sunset photos over the Lomond Hills in Fife across Aberlady Bay. The evening may have cost me quite a few pounds but it was worth it. A lovely Sunday evening out.

All this evening's photos here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.