Essex Was Eclipsed :(

MrQ and I were transfixed by the eclipse in 1999 and I was so looking forward to today's. What made an impression on me was the crescents from points of light filtered through the trees cast on the ground. I read up on how to shoot the actual eclipse but it was these shapes that I wanted to capture. I couldn't find anything about them online.

I figured that as the trees are not in leaf as they were in August 1999 I'd have to find something to filter the light of the eclipse through. I found an old fish pond filter with holes in it and thought about using that but then hit on the idea of using a colander. I was amazed to see someone on the TV this morning demonstrating how to use a colander, I thought it was my idea. :)

I got my kit of that and a welder's glass ready but we had total cloud cover in Essex. :( I'm afraid our experience was rather underwhelming. It was a dull morning anyway and just got a bit duller. Robin redbreast continued to sing, some drivers put their headlights on. 

I have done a reprise of a pic I posted last year taken at twilight of mirabella blossom against the head and tail lights on our lane. We had morning twilight today.

Hooray for the first day of spring and for International Day Of Happiness. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.