TMac

By TMac

Home Education

After the doom and gloom predictions on the weather sites, the Scottish weather did what it does best this morning, and sprung a total surprise.
Blue skies at 7am!
Niamh was pretty chuffed when I told her she was getting some time off school this morning to watch the eclipse, as the school hadn't mentioned a word about it and when I enquired (and sent a link to "safe" Primary school appropriate activities!) I was told the council wouldn't let them do anything bar pinholes.
Pinholes would have been fine but not a thing had been taught in the run up to the event and I had no hopes that the kids would be given the opportunity to witness such an amazing and educational event...
I was caught off guard as I had thought it would be a wash-out due to cloud so scrambled together a binocular projector and and assembly of kitchen utensils for viewing.
After seeing photos on photography forums of the damage done to camera sensors I chose not to attempt a sun photo without proper equipment.
To be honest, the projection method was so much fun I forgot about taking "real" photos.
Niamh was delighted by the whole thing!
Apparently they did get taught about it in the afternoon...after the event!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.