Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

NE Glisan St.

I've been meaning to photograph this dive bar for some time, I just love the bizarre little castle architecture, 1930s, I think.  I've never been in but it has decent reviews (food and pinball machines) on yelp.  I love that these corners of kitsch (it kind of looks like a strip club, of which Portland has many* but it's not) are still hanging on in Portland, long may they do so!  I'll have to go in and give a full report.

* Does Portland really have the highest number of strip clubs per capita?  Yes.  Portland, with one strip club for every 9,578 residents, is the leader among the 50 largest US cities, narrowly edging Tampa at 10,813, and blowing Las Vegas' 33,002 out of the water.  Source: Willamette Week.



Dancing nude is protected as free speech in Oregon's constitution.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.