Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Tongue Lickin' Good!

If you haven't already, take a peek at yesterday's blip. It is the same species as today's hummer, but he is  camouflaged  inside a bush!

Trying to avoid the local snowbirds as much as possible, I went up to Madera Canyon, which is located in the Coronado National Forest, later in the day.  I was only marginally successful.  When I arrived at the wildlife area I was fortunate to find a chair available.They were talking so loud I wanted to 'shush' them.  I guess I'm used to being alone with my birds.

At the beginning there was a lot of action.  Hummers flying at warp speed, like this Broad-billed hummingbird so anxious for a drink that he has his tongue out already! 

Among others, there were a couple of species of goldfinches, Mexican Blue Jays, Acorn Woodpeckers, White Breasted Nuthatches and wild turkeys.  There were some small critters running around looking for seeds and nuts, too.  A veritable cornucopia of southern Arizona "higher elevation" woodland creatures.


I love it up there.  It's only 14 miles from my house.  I don't have to limit myself to the wildlife area.  If I want solitude, there are trails on which I take strolls or tables where I can sit and write in my journal.


I needed to  get away to a peaceful place for a while and clear my head of all of the junk that has thrown me into depression.  So far, the two days I have spent up there are helping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.