Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Acorn Woodpeckers

It was a bad day.

I think the Acorn woodpecker on the left is having one, too.  His buddy keeps tossing his chips at him.  He's looking back as if to say, "WTF?"

I had mentally committed myself to go up to Madera Canyon today but I only lasted about fifteen minutes before I cashed in my chips.

Yesterday my trifocals broke so despite the use of my serum tears on their regular schedule and OTC drops, my eyes are so painful I want to claw them out.  I never should have even tried  to read without them.

Mom wasn't doing well today.  So I spent the rest of the day with her.  She wasn't up to going to church and when I picked her up to join the group for breakfast following Mass, she wasn't feeling right.  She was ashen when we left the restaurant.  I even asked one of the guys for help getting her to the car.

I left for the hour when I thought she was rested and stable but really felt guilty so beat a path right back to her house.  When she asked for pizza for dinner, I knew she was fine.  I picked up a large deep dish and we stuffed ourselves.  I stayed there past eight o'clock.

I haven't been sleeping well, maybe just a few hours a night, so I need to cash in now.  I want to use the massage chair (yes, I have one and it's wonderful) for fifteen minutes then hit the sheets.  I have to get up early and take mom to the Single's club.  Hopefully, I'll get my "eyes" fixed tomorrow, too! 

So much to do, so little time.  But I will  make some 'me' time, even if it is only fifteen minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.