THE PROMISE OF MORE TO COME!

My friend, Lin, takes some amazing photographs when she goes out walking with her dog, and yesterday, had taken one of some blossom and wanted to know what it was.  I thought it was hawthorn but another friend thought it could be plum.  


Then Mr. HCB reminded me that outside our fence was a plum tree, so I decided this morning that I would take some photographs of the blossom on our plum tree to see if they matched Lin’s.  I have to say, I’m still not sure, having looked at hers and then at mine and then at hers again.  

However, one thing I do know is that both Lin’s blossom and mine are quite beautiful. I had intended to cut some of the branches to bring indoors to photograph but the blue of the sky was so vivid that I decided it would look better taken on the tree.  On this branch, as well as the beautiful blossom, there is so much promise of more to come and set against the blue sky, it looked amazing.  However, I was glad to come back indoors, because although the sun is shining, there is still quite a nip in the air - but Spring is definitely on the way.

“What we do see depends mainly on what we look for. 
In the same field 
the farmer will notice the crop, 
the geologists the fossils, 
botanists the flowers, 
artists the colouring, 
sportsmen the cover for the game. 
Though we may all look at the same things, 
it does not all follow that we should see them.” 


John Lubbock
The Beauties of Nature and the Wonders of the World We Live in

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.