SLEEPING PEACEFULLY

We went up to The Old Bank today to meet up with our usual Saturday morning coffee club friends - and had a very enjoyable time.  We put the world to rights once again and it was great to see everyone.

I took a photograph of ERIC, in June 2013, when he was about 5 months old and used it as my Blip and when I saw him sleeping so peacefully today, asked Lisa for permission to use this photograph today and she was happy for me to do so.  Eric was 2 years old in January this year and is a lovely little boy now.  Over the months, we have watched him grow, and when we saw him a few months ago, he was chatting away.  Lisa, told me this morning that he said to her earlier this week “Mummy, it’s amazing” and when she asked him what was, his response was “I just don’t know!”  I told her she should be writing these things down so that they remember the cute things that Eric said.

Matt and Lisa are obviously loving and caring parents, and Lisa said how fortunate she was to be able to stay at home with Eric - when lots of mothers these days have to go to work to make ends meet.  I told her I didn’t regret spending the time at home with my children when they were young and never ever felt like a “cabbage” which is something one hears said these days.  I always felt that as my children learned, I learned too.

“Do not ask your children
to strive for extraordinary lives.
Such striving may seem admirable,
but it is the way of foolishness.
Help them instead to find the wonder
and the marvel of an ordinary life.
Show them the joy of tasting
tomatoes, apples and pears.
Show them how to cry
when pets and people die.
Show them the infinite pleasure
in the touch of a hand.
And make the ordinary come alive for them.
The extraordinary will take care of itself.” 

William Martin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.