Slow Skipton Saturday

I had a physio appointment during the week, trying to be proactive to sort out this on-going calf problem that's been preventing me from doing any serious running for a while now. At one stage she told me to relax. And I couldn't. I didn't know how! I need help in order to relax because my natural state seems to be one of tension. I'm happiest when I'm exercising either the brain or the legs.

Today, though, some friends invited me to join them in Skipton for the kind of day that seems to be enjoyed by most people at weekends, not involving much exercise at all, just walking the streets, browsing the shops, finding a pub for lunch and a cafe for a coffee or two. I will admit to getting a bit twitchy at times, the body rebelling against such imposed slowness, but after a while I managed to relax into the vibe of the day and actually enjoyed myself. I did manage to sneak in some street photography and also some writing so I felt like I had achieved something too. That is a need I can't let go of so easily. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.