a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Shadows and Light

Cemetery Sunday
 
Every picture has its shadows
And it has some source of light
Blindness blindness and sight
The perils of benefactors
The blessings of parasites
Blindness blindness and sight
Threatened by all things
Devil of cruelty
Drawn to all things
Devil of delight
Mythical devil of the ever-present laws
Governing blindness blindness and sight
 
Joni Mitchell – Shadows and Light
 
A lovely relaxing Sunday with my sister Janet, my brother-in-law Mark and my Dad, visiting Newark Park, a National Trust property on the edge of the Cotswold escarpment that gives nearby Wotton-under-Edge its name.  As we all blip it was a mini family blip meet. Lots of pictures were taken,  
 

I was keen to take part in Cemetery Sunday this week having not been well enough.  But unfortunately for me, there was no cemetery at Newark Park, not even a small pet’s grave.  With the day coming to a close I was starting to think that I was going to need the tripod and torch that I had in the car after all.  Fortunately on the way back to their home we passed a small non-conformist church with a few old graves casting long shadows in the late evening sunshine and I took the chance they presented.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.