pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Don't count your chickens...

I love love love my chickens. But I have had to part with a fair number since the redundancy notice, finding good homes for them with friends. I am left now with a total of 9. Too many to take to my small garden in Norfolk. Well, Jon says it's too many!

So....who do I take? This handsome couple are Bill and Wendy, so named after Bill and Wendy Clark - Head Warden at Wandlebury when things were good, and Cambridge Preservation Society recognised what was needed to manage their park. Bill and Wendy still live on site, but the new management are trying to push them out of their home......I won't get on to that subject. Back to my hens...

B & W of the fowl world were also known as 'my eBay eggs' as I bought the eggs on impulse, on eBay. They were my very first venture into hatching eggs, and I didn't even have an incubator! After quickly googling the subject, Henry & I built our own incubator with a large polystyrene box, a bulb, and not much else. They arrived through the post safely packaged and I placed them into my incubator.

Of the 6, only 2 hatched, but turned out to be Bill & Wendy. My beautiful Gold Laced Orpingtons. They are a nice natured bird, and Bill has never attacked me (unlike one Light Sussex cockerel I had once - he went in the pot after that) 

I also have 3 lovely lady GLOs - offspring of the above who have just started laying. So that makes 5. I also a couple of old birds - Margo and Pam. They no longer lay, but they have names, which makes them pets. I don't know where they will go. And my last 2 are another couple - Polish Bantams. I have arranged for them to live with my neighbours - mother and daughter Marjorie and another Wendy. Marjorie is 104. She's lived here all her life. A blip subject for another day?

I have so much to blip about today, I think I could do a few blips if I had the time.

Labels all sewn in...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.