The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Tall ships, Gloucester Docks

Gloucester Docks is the UK's most inland docks. Coal barges used to come here, when the Gloucester to Sharpness canal was still open to trade. It was a way of linking Gloucester and the rest of the UK's canal network to the open sea, via the G&S canal and the river Severn.

Now there are shops and museums and cafes and flats, and narrowboats, and a boat yard, where tall ships come to be repaired. They sail up the canal when the tide is right. I have photos: see https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/4707356 and the following day's shot. Piratey films are also shot here, sometimes with Johnny Depp on board a ship. Arrrr.

This is a placeholder shot as we actually went to film the Severn Bore, which is another tale. I took about 7 billion shots and have not had time to sort them out yet. The iPad will explode if I try to load them all. After our Bore-ing activities, we went back to Gloucester, and walked through the docks to have breakfast at my climbing club, the Warehouse.

Once I heard the chink of the carabiniers and saw people walking around in their kit, I longed to be back on the walls! I haven't climbed for ages Just got too overwhelmed by life and work and everything.. I took Steve up to see the Arena (the climbing walls) and the place was full of agile nine year olds running up ropes in the sky, so I was quite glad not the be climbing at that very moment!

I spent the afternoon reading and snoozing in the sun in the cabin in our garden, then in the evening went out to a fundraising Indian meal at our school. Brilliant food and good company: a good way to end the day : well sort of! After that I came home and whipped up some savoury mango salad and peanut butter popcorn to take to a seaside picnic on Sunday morning...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.