Journey Through Time

By Sue

Gerbera Daisies

I tried fiddling around with artsy effects, but decided these didn't need a darn thing.  They are pretty enough as is.

Medical issues are not fun to talk about, but a lot of ladies (and occasionally men) have had, at one time or another, the dreaded bladder infection.  This morning I became aware that something was amiss, so I hotfooted it to the Urgent Clinic which is affiliated with my health clinic.  I was the only one in the waiting room and, lucky me, got attended to quickly and then I went to get my prescription.  Thank God for antibiotics.  But, I didn't feel THAT sick, so since I had the camera in the car, I snapped a few shots of these pretty Gerbera Daisies.  I still remember a few years ago I was so happy with my new Gerbera Daisy, and I put it out on a table in my backyard.  The next day, two blooms were long gone.  A squirrel had vandalized my daisy!  I was so mad.  Well, I had to look it up to see who the culprit would be, and it seems squirrels eat a lot of things one wouldn't expect.  I saw one yesterday, calming ripping off new little leaves off of a little maple tree and stuffing it in his mouth.  

The other day I got my DNA results that I did in conjunction with my genealogy research.  What fun!  59% British Isles, 27% Western and Central Europe, 4% Finland and Northern Siberia, 3% Scandinavian, and the big surprise to me was the Non-European bits and pieces that showed up.  5% Asia Minor (Turkey and all that area) and 2% North African (Algeria, Tunesia, etc).  I went to bed that night visualizing a distant ancestor migrating out of N. Africa to Spain, probably, mingling with European people and eventually ending up being part of my DNA, and also wondering about how I ended up being related to somebody in Syria, or Turkey or thereabouts. I was delighted.  I was going to say Turkish Delight, but...I won't.  :)

We truly are all related to one another.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.