Birthday Girl

Seven years today I became a Mummy!
After twenty eight long hours and a - thankfully precautionary - trip to the operating theatre Mr K told me that the baby was a girl.
"Of course it is" I said "It's Miss E!"
I always knew she was a girl. Our beautiful daughter.
This morning that baby came bouncing into our bed just before 6am exclaiming proudly that she's seven now!
The morning was a whirlwind of present opening and a special treat Nutella on crumpet breakfast.
Her iPad made her pogo up and down with delight and excitement. She hadn't been expecting it.
Once I'd dropped them off at school I went to Tescos to buy supplies for her birthday tea. It was much the same as Miss L's birthday tea - cheese and pineapple on sticks, marshmallows and strawberries on sticks, grapes on sticks, cheese puffs, carrot, cucumber and houmous.
One addition that Miss E wanted was pancakes so there were a few dozen of them with Nutella and lemon and sugar.
And chocolate cake!
This was about the third attempt at getting a photo of her blowing out her candles! She kept blowing them out too quickly and then we all got the giggles. Brilliant!
Nana, Papa and Maisie came to join the celebrations but unfortunately the cousins are poorly so they couldn't make it. Get well soon!
I can't believe Miss E is seven. The time just flies.
She hasn't always been the easiest child to deal with but this year I'm starting to see the person she's going to be. And she's lovely!
She seems to have settled into herself over the last few months. She's happier, more affectionate and more at peace with the world.
Obviously she still has her moments but there's a wonderful little person in there and it's a delight watching her emerge.
I tell her every day that I love her more than anything else in the world.
(I tell Miss L that too and then when they look puzzled I use it as an opportunity to explain the concept of paradoxes to them. I'm such a fun Mummy!!!!)
My beautiful, precious girl. Happy Birthday Angel xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.