Henley-On-Thames

Today I took the train to Henley to spend another day with my friend (see yesterday's blip) - joined today by her husband and some other friends of theirs. Henley is only a 12 minute journey on the train or about 5 miles to drive, but I don't go there often enough which is silly of me, so I was glad for a good reason to visit today. 

Henley is in South Oxfordshire and is probably most famous for the Royal Regatta.  

We ate at the Angel pub (top left) overlooking the Thames.  After lunch I had a little time to wander around before I took the train back home.  I once went to a wedding reception held on the riverboat (bottom left) as we cruised down the Thames.  Bottom right is the Imperial Hotel.  The bookshop (top left) is a lovely little place to visit.  Years ago I bought a very old copy of Pride and Prejudice and I still treasure it.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.