carliewired

By carliewired

The Road to Reno

Snow-capped mountains high
above the desert sagebrush
create “Nevada”
 
~ carliewired
 
We were up a bit earlier than usual on this sunny morning. D has a cold. He didn't feel like eating breakfast so we were on our way as soon as he had connected the truck and trailer.
 
There was a bit of a bite to the wind. I always feel sad to think that I will have to locate my socks and jeans soon.....sandals and capris will not suffice much longer on the trip north.
 
We continued from Tonopah to Reno today on Highway 95. It is mostly desert landscape with a backdrop of snowy mountains. In most places the trees are just starting to bud and leaf out. It wasn't until we reached Reno that we saw trees in bloom.
 
Near Hawthorne, there are many, many acres of underground storage for the US military. Much of it looks like a series of large burial mounds. Some areas are appear to be row after row of warehouses. A rail spur serves this area which is very much in the middle of nowhere.
 
Just past Hawthorne is Walker Lake, a beautiful blue jewel set in the desert. The highway sign warns to  watch for horses. I could see a very large herd of horses, presumably wild, a way across to the far shore. No photos possible as there was no place to pull over.  Later, near Fallon, I missed two pronghorns coming up into a field in farmland. (Like this one I saw in Alberta, Canada.) I did catch the Union Pacific engine as we passed beside it.
 
We arrived in Reno about 2 PM to see one lone Canada goose grazing in the parking lot. It seemed completely undisturbed by traffic going by.
 
In the distance and to the southwest, I can see a snowy mountain that appears to be a local ski hill. I can see the runs and the verticals holding up the liftline at the very top. I imagine it was a pretty nice day of spring skiing there today.


*** I am still having major issues with internet connections. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.