Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Morning Fog, Rangitata Gorge

With the promise of a fine morning, I rose before sunrise and headed up the Rangitata Gorge road to see what shooting opportunities were out there.

After battling through some of the thickest fog I've ever driven through for some 10kms, I finally climbed out of the fog onto the Waikari Hills. The orange blush of alpenglow announced the sunrise before it arrived, but by the time I reached my destination at Coal Hill station the golden light was starting to arrive over the Main Divide at the head of the valley.

As you can see, the Rangitata river was covered with a blanket of fog, so I decided not to drive further down on to the flats of the valley, instead electing to turn around and watch the golden sun illuminate the Canterbury Plains from the Waikari Hills on my way back home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.