Ice Age Glacial Boulder

I returned to Atholl Woods today and was amazed at the number of huge boulders among the trees. These boulders were there long before the wood. In recent years Perthshire estates have worked to keep deer and sheep off some of their land to let trees grow back, and the result is beautiful woodland walks open to the public. 
The boulders had been carried along by glacial ice, often over distances of hundreds of kilometres. As the glacier retreated the boulders were left strewn across the landscape. The last widespread ice age sheet to cover most of Scotland existed between about 27.000 and 13.500 years ago. It puts one's own life into perspective!
To show the scale and get into the picture I set up my camera on a smaller rock pointing up to include the beautiful blue sky. I then set the 10 second self -timer. I had to switch off the HDR setting and choose the 'Intelligent+' setting. It's amazing how quickly you forget additional functions when rarely used. However, eventually I got there and sun kept shining! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.