Hang dogging

Hang dogging in rock climbing terms is pausing on gear while trying to lead a tricky route.  I’m not good enough nor daring enough for that - I like to be on the safe end of a rope.  

My new definition of red pointing in cycling terms is stopping for a rest while trying to get up a tricky hill.  I’m good enough for that!  In fact, I have a number of levels…

On sight: no prior knowledge, no stopping
Flash: prior knowledge (e.g. a profile), no stopping
Zig zag: who cares about prior knowledge? I’m in trouble.  If there’s no cars, zig zag side to side
Hang dogging: stop for a rest on the way up a hill (just to be clear… as many times as you like)
Push: obvious really (but don’t underestimate how exhausting it can be (yes, that’s a confession))

Today, I took advantage of Rich working from home and headed to Pateley Bridge.  I was a little wary about how long it would take so I set off at 7am to make sure I was back in time for work. 

I fully expected a Level 5 coming out of Pateley.  Rich remembered a sting at the top.  I remembered a sting at the bottom.  In actual fact, it stung all the way up.  After zig zagging the bottom half, hang dogging was the way forward where I took the opportunity of photos and munchies.

I haven’t reached level 5 in my return to cycling but I certainly have in the past and I’m sure I will again!  I also achieved a new personal best today for cycling slowly up a hill without falling off.

I took this photo after I’d caught my breath, looking back into the Pateley Bridge valley of Nidderdale.  I was home before 11 and was jolly pleased with that.  Rich has shown me a great little website called mapometer where you can plot your route, see the profiles, height gain and how many calories you’ve burned.  

I’ve now got quite a lot of eating to do!

Update: what I thought was red pointing, after checking with the expert, is in fact hang dogging which sounds dodgy but I'm afraid I like being accurate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.