a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Reel around the fountain

Wide Angle Wednesday: Seeing the Point

"Its time the tale were told
Of how you took a child
And you made him old


Reel around the fountain
slap me on the patio
I'll take it now"

The Smiths - Reel around the fountain


I'm having another go at Hobbs Wide Angle Wednesday challenge this week.  I wasn't able to take part last week as I was keen to take part in blipfotoforever.  Yes, that is a week ago all ready.

I had a couple of thoughts for what I would take for this one, including this fountain in Bristol's Millennium Square.  I had in mind a moody black and white shot, to make the most of the geometry.  In the event when I first went to take the shot, there were hoards of schoolchildren eating their lunch, so I went and looked for other pictures instead.

I managed to get a rather nice one of the harbour ferry coming in, as well as one of the prow of a small yacht in the harbour and felt that one or other would do for today's blip.  On the off chance, I wandered back to the office through the square to see two small pre-school children being allowed to paddle in the fountain by their mum.  Holding their trousers up to stop them getting wet they tottered around giggling and shrieking.

I practically ran across the square to get to my vantage point and then waited for them to come to me, and joy of joys the little terrors did.  As you can see they were very much seeing the point, both in terms of the physical geometrical point, but also in the sense of the purpose of the fountain.  

I thought about mono, and it does work well in black and white, but I fancied a little bit of colourful punch for a change.  I hope you like it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.