a lifetime burning

By Sheol

31

Good Friday and the one day of our bank holiday weekend that is due to be sunny and dry.  

Cathy and I made the most of it, with a trip into Bristol and a walk around the floating harbour, stopping off at the M Shed to visit the Wildlife Photographer of the Year exhibition before it closes.  I've been meaning to visit for some time and we finally had the time and opportunity today.  This is a shot of one of the iconic cranes that sit outside the front of the museum.  Once upon a time Bristol's harbourside was festooned with these cranes, as you can tell from the numbering of this one.

There were some wonderful photographs on display at the Wildlife Photographer of the Year exhibition.  I spent some time looking at the camera settings and trying to work out why each composition worked.  The lengths that people go to get their shot is awe inspiring - some shots required days of preparation and hours of time.  I came away feeling distinctly inadequate :-)

Unfortunately when we got back to the office car park where I had parked my car, I felt even more inadequate as I realised that I had left my swipe card at home and the garage blipper in the car, so couldn't get into the garage .... So we caught the bus home.  Cathy was very good about it, all things considered!

This evening I've made my second ever loaf of bread.  Its just come out of the oven and we are waiting to see if it is any better than the first ... I feel that learning to make bread will be a long slow iterative process....

Oh, and Jess is home for an easter visit tomorrow - hurrah! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.