TheWayfaringTree

By FergInCasentino

Wabbit and BREAKING NEWS

See  here for message from Joe Tree https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2027531207289340134 broke at 10.15 pm  ish.

I'd not heard this one until The Principal in Newcastle at a conference where they're talking wind propulsion rang to say her Mum was feeling wobbit.

Looked it up and its Scots vernacular for exhausted, tired, worn out, etc. as in  'Ah wiz wabbit after clearin'-oot ma gearden o' all thon leaves'.

Or ' Ah wiz rabbit after posting all thon bogs, eh?'

There's a great site on Scots vernacular at  http://www.firstfoot.com

It had this lovely example of 'tummle hur wulkies' that arose from a policemand gymnast called Wilkie apparently (you couldn't make it up)

'Ah used tae love watchin that Olga Korbut, she could fair Tummle hur wulkies that wee lassie'.

Anyway, the photo here is of a plant called 'Alexanders' - an umbilliferae ( a word I shall never master the spelling of) that grows in thick, early and choking profusion on the lanes hereabouts.

I have a blog in the oven, so to speak, but I feel more apprehensive with each one I publish in this deafening silence. Am sleeping on it. No. I decided to post it but without notification except to you guys passing through. It's here - if you've a change let me know if it reads OK. Ta and ta again. Ah hope it dusna tummle yur wilkies, pals.

If you want to sign up to my seditious list of blip users for a worst case scenario the 'newsletter' link page is here. We're up to 60 strong the ChimpMailers tell me.

One more day of this blogging malarkey tomorrow and then up to Edinburgh to see the 'wabbit' ones - bless em.

Bon nuit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.