A quiet Sunday

Bliss!  Mum did her jigsaw, I worked on printing my lino-cuts and Ann went to church.  After a hectic and stressful week this felt like the first opportunity I'd had to do something for me.

I'd been due to start work on this reduction lino-cut last Monday at Hot-Bed Press and as I was unable to go I decided to work on this at home.  I love cutting lino, but as a process I don't think of it as my thing (you have to think in terms of negative rather than positive space - and I struggle to do mirror actions in Tai Chi!)  So I settled for an image I'd drawn back in the summer as we walked the canal tow-path in Sheffield.  We were asked to work with different colour themes.  So far these look rather similar but I anticipate one developing with an blue range and one in browns and reds.

After our visit to Antwerp and our walk along the Sheffield canal from Meadowhall I'd begun to explore a few ideas for developing an industrial theme, but never really developed it into anything.  Maybe I'll pick back up on this when I've worked through the Murano/ Venice theme.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.