Cigs

By Cigs

Abbeyhill

I was at a lecture last night where I met Fraser Gray who is a street artist. He mentioned that he had just about secured funding to paint a mural under the railway bridge at Abbeyhill on the tiles there. So despite it not being an office day, system access for remote workers collapsed first thing and I was in the office this morning. But as systems were later back up and running I decided to go home at lunchtime (it makes it easier to round up the boys from home)
And I decided to go home via the site of the proposed mural.

The horror! There, was a council van with men and steam cleaners and jet washers and they were removing graffiti!!! Dear reader, I nearly expired! My heart was a flutter. I was shaking and in shock!
As quickly as I could, I darted across the road and whipped it out* and took some shots of the Cigs that's there.

Black paint on dressed stone. Undated, but the classic underline / over scores there in all their glory!

I could then hardly bear to look as I walked round to Croft an Righ and sure enough the bastards had tried to erase this one....

It's bad enough when I lose a Cigs, but to see it happen.... It's like a dagger through the heart, I tells you.

Anyone know a good grief counsellor? (Not a Good grief! counsellor)

*This line has been inserted with Scottish Arts Council funding for the Pensioner

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.