Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Finishing late

I've missed gardening in the evening. It's really rewarding to work with the longer hours that Spring brings, and day-by-day to feel the cold less and less.

It took me a while to get going today. I was awake most of the night feeling troubled and playing things over and over in my mind. I drank loads of herbal tea and watched it get light and then struggled to find energy this morning. What I really wanted to do was go back to bed but I fought that and wrote myself some lists. 

Richard was working all day, the teenager was sleeping and Tess was at school so I had some much-needed quiet and the ability to take things at my own pace and eat at all the wrong times. 

I had a gentle ramble with the dog then did some washing and then spent the rest of the day washing down the greenhouse and pootling about in the garden. I've got another veg bed cleared and topped up with new compost and our 3-year-old homemade compost is perfect for this.
It was good. I'm knackered and wind burnt and have had a good dose of vitamin D and head space. 

I'm sad about some stuff but I'm okay. Life is okay. 

Now please can I sleep... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.