Thinking more visually

By fjtweedie

Edinburgh from the Pentlands

A BEAUTIFUL day, so no way I was going to the gym when I could climb the Pentland Hills. This is the view from above Swanston, by a fantastic beech tree with an almost hollow trunk.

I climbed Caerketton (the one with the scree) and came around by the top of the Hillend ski centre, then back down to Swanston again. There were three geocaches on the way, two of which I'd found already, but forgotten to write down some extra numbers which will lead me to another cache.

However, by this very spot on the way back down, six or seven Highland cattle had taken up residence, probably in the hope of finding some shelter from the sun. What was worse was that two of them were literally locking horns, and I did not fancy being on the end, or anywhere near those horns. After hanging about for a few minutes discretion seemed the better part of valour, and I found another route down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.