Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Beautiful Demoiselle

What a wonderful name for a damselfly (my obsession of the moment). Today'd blip was oh so close to being a Red Admiral butterfly that alighted on a pair of my drying underpants in the garden. I only had the one shot of it but when I looked the butterfly was a bit out of focus while the cotton of the grundies was in perfect definition. I stalked it and did get quite a nice shot which was my banker for today.

But this evening we went down to Papercourt Meadows, fast becoming a favourite walking spot and the damselflies were out in force. How could I deny this blip of the Beautiful Demoiselle by the side of the River Wey visiting some opening cow parsley? A few Mayfly were rising and falling in the air and a WWI Sopwith Triplane flew overhead. Yes you read that right. It must be a replica based, I'd guess, at the Brooklands Museum not so far away.

Meanwhile Gill found this cute little spider's web and nest shaped from bending a grass seed head. On closer inspection it tells a rather grim story of a lady who's found a sustaining use for her man once he's fulfilled his sexual role - supper.

So two new species to add to my damselfly gallery and to run through i-Spot (see yesterday's blip). No telly for me tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.