Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Duffers' Week

Yes it's Mayfly time and there were plenty of them dancing up and down on Thundry Meadows, Elstead in Surrey this evening. There was a milky quality to the late afternoon light and the weather was very close and hot with lots of trout rising on the River Wey. I hadn't planned to take any, but took a couple of brown trout that I've gutted and we'll smoke them tomorrow for lunch or tea, one or t'other.

Thundry Meadows is a magical place. It's a marshy meadow with all sorts of interesting grasses and 24 species of dragonfly although I didn't see one today. I did see some damsel flies and added some images to a growing collection. But I decided to blip the Mayfly because Mayflies are special. I tried to find out the variety but no luck so far.

In trout fishing we call Mayfly time "duffers' week" because the fish are so hungry, even duffers can catch them then. But I've seen the water covered in Mayfly with not a fish rising so it's not always so easy, but I confess it was today. Thanks to everyone for the hearts and stars yesterday.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.