Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Mexican Jay

Out of nowhere on this sunny day, it started to rain.  I looked up but couldn't even see the cloud from which the drops were falling.  I stuck it out and it stopping in about fifteen minutes but I don't think the shirt I was wearing will ever be the same again  - I had the camera shoved under it!

The Mexican Jay is an omnivore (acorns, nuts, arthropods, lizards) of the Mexican mountains which lives in pine, oak and juniper woodlands and can be found in western Texas, New Mexico and Arizona.  It lives in social groups that may include multiple breeding pairs, and group members may feed young at multiple nests within the group territory. They are fascinating birds.

I hate when I post two blips on the same day because the first one tends to get shortchanged.  Please don't miss that hummer of a hummer!  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.