Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Goodbye Dad - We will Miss You

Saturday 14 February 2015  (Posted on 28 March 2015)
 
"And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly, and to love mercy
and to walk humbly with your God."
(Micah 6:8)
 
The hardest of days, as we said goodbye to our wonderful Father, who passed away suddenly on Tuesday 3 February, after taking ill on a train heading north from Yorkshire.  The Service of Thanksgiving at Mortonhall Crematorium, Edinburgh, just nine weeks after Mum.  We never expected to be back so soon. 
 
Scottish Fire and Rescue Service sent a manned pump.  A uniformed officer who served under Dad, carried a ceremonial brass helmet, as we walked up the aisle.  We found his white helmet and medal, and had a beautiful wreath created around them.  We felt so much support from family, friends and colleagues, the place was packed with many standing at the back.  
 
Largo from The New World (Dvorak), played by the Grimethorpe Colliery Band, as we came in.  Brought up in Yorkshire, he was the "Hovis" boy, delivering loaves on his bicycle for the local bakery. 
 
Another family DIY, as my brother and brother in law led the service.  Dad had asked for "Blest be the tie that Binds", a hymn sung at his Baptism, and many of his family events.  His mother attended the Wainsgate Church in Hebdon Bridge where the hymn originates.   I read from Psalm 112 and my husband from John 14.  I am so glad I managed to do that, I wanted to honour my Dad by doing something for him.  The service ended with "In Christ Alone" -
"No power of hell, no scheme of man,
can ever pluck me from His hand,
Till He returns, or calls me home,
Here in the power of Christ I'll stand."
 
I am so proud of my Firemaster Father.  He never really retired, always "on duty".  His blue light, boots, tools and first aid kits still in his car  "just in case".  He didn't have a study, the sign on the door says "Control Room". 
 
My brother's tribute ended by saying :
"He was committed to helping others, dedicated to fire safety and rescue, a model public servant.   A faithful and supportive husband,  and a loving and encouraging father and grandfather. He was an energetic, cheerful, and fair man of God. We should be inspired by his life and work. Verse 6 of Ps 112 reads  A good person will never fail; he will always be remembered."
We will miss you Dad .... you will always be remembered."


Praise the Lord!
Happy is the person who honors the Lord,
    who takes pleasure in obeying his commands.
Light shines in the darkness for good people,
    for those who are merciful, kind, and just.
Happy is the person who is generous with his loans,
    who runs his business honestly.
A good person will never fail;
    he will always be remembered.

He is not afraid of receiving bad news;
    his faith is strong, and he trusts in the Lord.
He is not worried or afraid;
    he is certain to see his enemies defeated.
He gives generously to the needy,
    and his kindness never fails;
    
he will be powerful and respected.
(Psalm 112)
 
Do not be worried and upset,” Jesus told them. “Believe in God and believe also in me. There are many rooms in my Father's house, and I am going to prepare a place for you. I would not tell you this if it were not so. And after I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to myself, so that you will be where I am. 
(John 14: 1-3)

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.