Tonka Toy Tyres

My car is a British badged 4 by 4. Despite its relatively recent vintage it already has various electrical quirks characteristic of the brand. Warning buzzers go off for no apparent reason. Today a warning tone screeched out and the screen said to be careful, the reversing camera wasn't working, odd because the car isn't fitted with such a device and I was travelling forward at 40 mph. Also I am lucky to get a fortnight out of a dipped beam head light bulb. I have changed both sides this week.

A couple of weeks ago I was driven round a forest road site by the client in his Nissan pickup. There was a thin layer of wet snow on the road. I was impressed at how his truck sailed up the smooth gradients effortlessly. He explained that thanks to his "50-50" tyres he didn't even have to engage four wheel drive. Later the same day my gizmo equipped electronic everything permanent four wheel drive car stuck at the bottom of the first gradient of snow. After a bit of shovelling I had to reverse about a mile before I could get turned. The reason for my immediate loss of momentum was the smooth (almost slick like) factory fitted road tyres intended more for the Chelsea school run rather than a Scottish winter morning trip to work
At the end of their useful life I have taken advice from several folk as to what would be the best replacement rubber.
They are so big and chunky I reckon that if you had a magic wand and could change them in to similar sized burgers you could feed Jeremy Clarkson for a day.    .  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.