THE HERON FLEW HIGH,

away from me as I came nearer.
In the morning I had taken the lightrail and the train to Amsterdam, to meet our dear friend Cor. It had been a long time since I had seen him, the days in October that he had drove us to our home in Germany, so it was a happy meeting again.
First drink coffee of course, at platform 1, then a drive to the yachthaven where he looked if his boat had been safe during the stormy night.
In the meantime I walked towards the heron who stood on the shore of the IJsselmeer. A far and wide view over the water.
The heron flew away and I took my pictures. This one became my blip.
From the haven we drove to Durgerdam, also on the IJsselmeer, and walked on the dike. A small path into a meadow led us to a place where hundreds (thousands?) of waterbirds were. A bit too far away to discern what kind of birds they were. Oh please let us bring next time binoculars.
The weather was better than yesterday when it had rained. The sun not always visible and a cold wind. But is was nice to be in the open air.
A very well spend afternoon.
We drank tea afterwards and as usual had our thai meal in the Pasoek, restaurant in Noord.
Then I took the ferry, jumped in the train, and returned home, where Mischa greeted me heartely. She helped to choose the picture.

Now, too late to visit all your beautiful journals, but I'll be back tomorrow.

My haiku:

For that one moment
When your piercing eyes met mine
I was glad not to be a frog 

And the quote by D.H.Lawrence, in The White Peacock:

Be a good animal, true to your animal instincts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.