THE SWAN FAMILY

I found when I had gone out, in the rain.
The first walk here in The Hague. Watching the geese in the pond nearby.
I had to hide my camera in a plastic bag, my umbrella up, trying to keep it up despite the strong wind.
I had walked to the big pond, one swan swimming there, chasing a pair of canadian geese, who ran up the shore. Somehow the swan followed me, perhaps thinking that I had food for him, that I held back still.
I wished I had not let him, because when we came to the smaller pond, this swan began to chase two other swans. Amazing pictures in this scene, but I liked more the ones I took, when the peace had returned and a big swan family floated quietly in the canal.
From the pond I led the agressive swan back again.
Happily enough not really an accident had occurred, but to see the stress is painful enough.

My haiku:

Involuntarily
It is true, but what if not
The end had been well

And the quoute by Albert Camus in Catch as Catch Can (1960):

Effective action is Always unjust.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.