Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Au revoir

Yesterday, Aggie played up badly and I limped around the guided tour of the Palace of Versailes. This morning I chose not to to with those who walked in the countryside, but stayed in the Abbey grounds, camera in hand.

It proved to be very interesting, not least because I saw coypu by the river. The photos are not brilliant because I was spotted before I was anywhere near them.  Thanks to RockArea for correcting my original thought that these were beavers.

I did quite a bit of close up work on lichens and mosses, using my 50mm lens with an extension tube. Hand held but magic when it works.

Our coach came this afternoon and took us to Paris via Versailles. The drive along by the Seine was a delight and, at last, we saw the whole of the Eiffel Tower. This picture was taken through the window of the moving coach.

Thanks to emhowl for telling me that on this day in 1889 the Eiffel Tower was opened to the public! What a coincidence.

I nearly missed the Eurostar home. The time had been brought foward. Some people in our party were told when they arrived and some (including me) were not. I just happened to see one person who told me and boarding had already started. Phew!

I'm in London in the Kings Cross Premier Inn. We gained an hour today after losing 2 over the weekend. Very confusing!

Back blip from yesterday (worth seeing I think) is here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.