Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Meeting GeekMeek

After a lazy start, I made my way to Victoria and met GeekMeek for lunch. She works near to Victoria and she found a small restaurant in a quiet side street where it was not too busy for us to talk.

Of course, now I'm coveting her lovely Leicha camera...........

We had lots to chat about and the lunch hour sped by.  It was great to meet her. Have you noticed how you feel as though you know people you have followed on Blip?

The rest of my day was spent at exhibitions which were rather serious. There was the Goya, Witches and Old Women, at the Courtauld, followed by Maggie Hambling's War Requiem and Aftermath at Somerset House and then Scarcity and Waste, the Syngenta photography awards, also in Somerset House.  Very interesting at all sorts of levels.

I walked across the bridge to the South Bank. It was uncomfortably windy and I had plenty of time, so next stop was the Hayward Gallery for 7 Artists Take on Britain, described to me independently by 2 assistants, as "dense".  It's a large exhibition and I had to give up after 2 floors. The section on BSE could take an hour to digest (sorry).

On my way to the South Bank, I passed a fashion shoot so stopped to watch and quiety wield my camera. Of course I was told to stop and that it was a "private shoot".  I think that if they want to shoot privately, they should go somewhere private, but I think I was getting a bit tired by then.

After my meal at the National I was irritated by a "discretionary" 12.5% on the bill for the tip. I  refused to pay it and left my tip as usual. It seems rather steep and I was entering grumpy old woman mode.

Perhaps this is why I did not find my spirits uplifted high by The Rules of Living  in the Dorfman. It's a "black comedy" about a family at Christmas. The idea is fairly clever, but the content was too familiar and formulaic for my taste. The part where they all entered into a big food fight, left me cold and I was quite pleased I was not sitting in the front row........

And so to bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.