Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Photography students

I allowed myself another slow start today - enjoying my comfortable Premier Inn bed........

I had looked to see what was on around Kings Cross and set off to see the fountains in Granary Place first.  They are reminiscent of the ones I saw in Bordeaux a couple of years ago, except that it was very cold and windy here, so no children were running in and out to get soaked. Very sensible I thought.

These two lovely young women were taking photos of each other using a Pentax film camera. They are both studying photography. What could be more natural for me to photograph them.

That whole area around Kings Cross is like a giant building site. I saw the exhibition that explains how they have shortlisted the names for the new streets. I was delighted to see the name of my old friend Charles Chilton, although he has not made it to the short list.  Shame.

Then to the House of Illustration, tucked away beside more building work. Today the exhibition about Mac Connor: A New York Life opened, so I was one of the first in.  You can read more about him here.  It's a delightful small exhibition of about 70 art works.  They have a great selection of unusual greetings cards too.

I had lunch in Caravan, a very trendy wine bar in the same area.  Then on to the British Library, to be greeted as I entered with the words, "Just for future reference, you have walked in through the exit". Welcome to you too!

There was insufficient time to see the Magna Carta so I had a quick look around, returned to my hotel for my case and was in plenty of time for my train north.

Home, catching up on what has happened and preparing for tomorrow's operation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.