Taranaki above the clouds

This is the Te Rewa Rewa Bridge again. When I blipped the bridge on Saturday, a fellow blipper (tokoroa) commented that from the Rewa Rewa side (the site of the old Pa and the burial ground) Taranaki is seen under the arch of the bridge.

As I left work today, I saw that Taranaki was only partially obscured by cloud, and so S and I came down to the park by the bridge and walked over it to the Rewa Rewa side, and I was able to get this photo. I did take a couple more as another 'tourist' and the cyclist (who had decided to turn after crossing the bridge) waited so as to leave the bridge clear.

S persuaded me that the presence of the cyclist adds to the sense of scale, and so I chose this.

I also chose it above a couple of really good shag photos. I was interested to note that I can now distinguish between the different species. The juvenile Little Pied Shag (Kawau paka) is all black like the Kawa tui (Little Black Shag). They can be distinguished by the colour of beak (yellow and grey respectively) and dolour of eye (brown and green respectively). Pleased that I did that as I was taking the photos, not just back here where I can enlarge them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.