High above me

Another long day at work. Not even a lunch break today as there was paper work to do while I ate my sandwich and drank my coffee. Wound down this evening by going for a run along the Te Henui Walkway. This has been developed by the District Council in collaboration with the local Maori, of Te Atiawa iwi descent. The aim is to return the mouri (essence) to the walkways through the city of New Plymouth, as part of a programme called Te Ara Puawai (pathway to enlightenment).

Quite some distance up the path beside the Te Henui stream, I saw what I presumed was a kereru. I followed it s path to a tall tree somewhat off the path and was fortunate to get below it at an angle to get a good photo against the blue sky. The Kereru (native wood pigeon) is a large bird, and is an important of the ecology of native bush, as they spread the seeds of plants by eating the berries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.