IF AT FIRST.....

…..you don’t succeed, don’t give up, just try again and again and again!

It was a beautiful morning and as I looked out I could see this kiteboarder on the far side of Boscombe Pier.  The sun was shining brightly, but there was a very high wind.  In fact, it was so strong that I was nearly blown off the balcony as I was taking this shot - and before long, he had been blown to the other side of the pier and was obviously having a great time.

However, it wasn’t his prowess in handling the kite that amazed me but the amount of times he went down into the sea and then got back up to try again.  He was harnessing the power of the wind and using it to help him get back up and skim across the water.  

I guess practice makes perfect and before long he had moved on along the coast and was out of my sight.

I wonder if we are like that - when we get knocked down by what happens to us in life, do we get back up and try again, or do we bemoan the fact that things always go wrong for us, so ask ourselves "what’s the point of trying?”

I like to think that I get up and try again, and if necessary again and again - and I know that since my knee issues started last October, I have tried to stay positive and not keep “majoring” on the issues surrounding my joints.

I found this quote in a book by Maya Angelou entitled “Letter to My Daughter” which really resonated with me - but when people ask how I am, I do ask how they are - so it becomes a mutual sharing.

"Let’s tell the truth to people.
When people ask, ‘How are you?’
have the nerve sometimes to answer truthfully.
You must know, however,
that people will start avoiding you
because, they too, have knees that pain them
and heads that hurt
and they don’t want to know about yours.
But think of it this way:
If people avoid you,
you will have more time to meditate
and do fine research on a cure
for whatever truly afflicts you."

Thank you for your kind comments on yesterday's Blip - sorry I didn't get round to responding to you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.