The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Denistry

My guesthouse had the annoying and unusually early check-out time of 10am so I had lots of time to kill before my night train to Bangkok left at 5pm.

I'd been told that Chiang Mai is a great place to go to the dentists as they have really high standards but low prices so I booked an appointment a week ago to have a check up at a recommended clinic. They seemed much more thorough and less rushed than in the UK. I knew I needed one filling and they confirmed it with an X-ray. I was given an injection to numb the pain and it worked. The whole experience was relaxing.

An hour after leaving the clinic, I had to get a tuk tuk to the train station. Possibly due to my numb mouth, the driver thought I said bus station and took me the wrong way, right in to the rush-hour traffic. Luckily I noticed and checked on Google Maps before asking him. What should have been a 10 minute journey ended up taking 30 minutes and I briefly thought I might miss the train.

This night train was pretty uneventful compared to the last, although at one point a monk did come over and put his things on the seat opposite me as if he was going to sit there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.