Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Fu Manchu

or give that bird a napkin!

I've never seen a house finch such a deep red color. I guess it was the contrast between the sun on his back and his front being in the shadow - and my white balance set for bright sunlight.

It was a rough day on the patio shooting this morning. I've got to get out there earlier before the glare, too.  Nothing really in focus.  I haven't had much luck with my 55-250 without my tripod.  Guess I'll be setting it up.  Problem with that is I have to train it on only one thing...or stand next to it to try to move it around the yard.  I don't even know if the birds will come out with it there.

Might have to keep hauling Big Bertha out there and trying to shoot with her by hand.  I'm getting better with it.  All of my recent bird shots have been with that 400 lens.  

I'll be shooting with it through the window soon enough, after the temps get to 100º^ .  Then I'll be getting the bigger birds, I think.  They don't like me outside.  The little birds barely do.  They don't stay put more than a few seconds, either, so shooting by hand is almost a necessity.  Oh, well...I'll keep doing the best I can.  Maybe if I wasn't so tired I'd be more steady and quicker on the trigger...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.