My Life in Pictures

By PhillyStitcher

Good Friday

I started this project over 15-20 years ago, but stopped because the checkered border was driving me crazy. In those days, I did not have the stamina to stitch for more than one hour at one sitting. Now I can stitch for 4-6 hours a day without feeling queasy and dizzy.

It's turning out to be one of the warmest Good Fridays. It's pushing 70 but it's raining. 

Our Easter holiday weekend is going to be quiet, as usual. I don't really enjoy holidays.  

My siblings and I are scattered all over, so it's just me in this town. Years and years ago, our holidays used to be busy and full of people. It was like this as late as 1995, until my grandfather passed away. Others quickly followed, and, finally, the last of them…my mother…passed away in 2013. Now, we 4 siblings are still alive and at the top, but there are a far few of us. My sister and I do not have children, and my two youngest siblings have one kid each. I live in Philly, one lives in North Carolina and the last two live in New Hampshire. We discovered early on that we do not like to travel during holidays, so our family reunions are becoming rarer. When we do get together, it's usually for a wedding or a funeral. The last time we were together was our Mom's memorial service last summer. The next time we're getting together will probably for our niece's wedding reception sometime this year (she and her boyfriend eloped last week). Newby is in a similar predicament, but he does have an uncle and cousins living in Philly. However, as they have families (and lives) of their own, we don't get together on holidays. 

So, we try to make our holidays as memorable as possible, usually by traveling or having dinner at a $$$$ restaurant, and end up having a nice time by ourselves. We have each other, and don't need other people to complete our holiday celebrations.

Happy Easter/Happy Passover!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.