Plus ça change...

By SooB

Gardening leave

A warm sunny day, and definitely at last a day to be spent in the garden.  I may regret my eagerness later when the burnt stripe of 'gardeners' gap' on my back starts hurting.  Must buy some longer vests...

To keep up with the burning theme, Mr B spent the day burning all the wood, from house and garden, that has built up over the long damp winter.  This resulted in a plague of furry caterpillars, smoked out of their treetop nests and subsequently dispatched by Mr B.  Meanwhile, I chopped down weeds (it's only a year since I weeded properly, and yet trees taller than me have grown in flower beds), hauled out dead stuff and rejuvenated plants (ie chopped them about randomly in the hope that it frightens them into growing more).  

To my great delight, anenomes have started popping up in all sorts of random places in the garden.  They are one of my favourite flowers and, aside from their vibrant colours, I also love their form - the robust centre and delicate, almost translucent, petals.  Hence the black and white treatment.

So, I am pricked all over with bramble thorns, have dirt ground well into my hands, am sunburnt on back and shoulders and utterly exhausted.  

A perfect day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.