A R.A.R.E. Peek!

That's not just a beautifully decorated book -- it's been hollowed out inside and turned into a treasure box, providing a secret place to stash love letters, old buttons, special beach stones, feathers, or other personal favorites!

This was one of my favorite things at the 2015 Recycled Art & Resource Expo (R.A.R.E.), which runs today and tomorrow (April 3-4) at several locations in Bellingham, offering a variety of workshops, presentations, and exhibits. I visited the Recycled Art exhibit at Allied Arts today, where nearly 30 artists are exhibiting imaginative works made from 75% or more recycled materials.

How about this cute little dog, made from an old thermos bottle, a shoe horn, two spatulas, and part of a jig saw? I'd give it a home!

But I'd be even happier to give this curvaceous, sparkly lamp a new home -- I love it! (And I just happen to have a box of crystals like those... maybe I could commission a similar lamp.)

It's inspiring and heartwarming to see what creative folks can make with recycled materials, turning them into useful, appealing objects and keeping those materials out of landfills. Yet another reason why I love living here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.