Farmer & Son

Today was Opening Day for the Bellingham Farmers Market, and the sun shone all day! 

I shot nearly 300 photos, and bought asparagus, shiitake mushrooms, mixed salad greens, rhubarb, radishes, and kale raab, as well as yogurt, cheese, and a few cookies -- all local -- to balance out those veggies. 

This is Amy and her son Rudy -- Amy and her husband, who farm 9.5 acres, are among the younger generation of local farmers here who will ensure that I will be able to continue to eat locally-grown organic vegetables into my dotage, if I last that long. I particularly love their fresh salad mix, cherry tomatoes, raspberries, and young ginger. 

(Addendum: The elegant wooden box that Phil's been working on for several days is now finished -- and beautiful!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.