Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

A new lamb at Moonset Farm

Dear Diary,

Yesterday was such a gift! It got to nearly 65F and I was finally able to sweep out the barn from the winter accumulation of sand.  Emerson spent the whole day on the porch for the first time and for once the furnace didn't kick on every 20 minutes!  Yes, a really good Good Friday!

The highlight of the day was my visit to my friends farm just a few miles from my house to see her new crop of spring lambs.  Most of her lambs will be sold in the next few weeks but she keeps a few each year.  This is one of the "keepers"...Patches, a Katahdin hair sheep.  Unlike other sheep this breed doesn't have wool that must be sheared.  Their hair sheds naturally.

What is it about the sweet "sheep smile" that tugs at the heart strings?  I've been in love with these wooly  hairy wonders since I first set eyes on them.  Cuddling a lamb is a sure way to bring down the old blood pressure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.