pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Family History

Today I spent an hour or so with my dad trying to identify guests in my nan's (that is my dad's parents) wedding photo (from 1927). It was another thing that had surfaced in my unpacking! 

It began when a programme I heard on radio 4 yesterday, mentioned genealogy and the need to talk about our family history, especially with the older generation. My dad is the oldest in our family now - & won't mind me mentioning his age (85 and a half, and still with a spring in his step and an active mind!) - so who better to quiz! 

As I mentioned yesterday, it is my dad's mum's family who are our Norfolk ancestors - their family name is Ketteringham. My dad spent part of the 2nd world war evacuated to Marlingford (a small village just west of Norwich) with his grandparents. 

We identified the majority of the people in the photo, and then went on to map where in Norfolk the growing family had lived during the time from 1893 to 1921, and I came away with a bit more information to add to my own family tree research (I have been doing it for 20+ years - but it is one of my many hobbies, and I am fired up to do a bit more on the Ketteringham's of Norwich now)

Coincidence 1
The neighbouring village to Gresham is Matlaske; a village where my nan's brother lived until his death, and a place I remember visiting as a little girl. Who would have thought I'd end up living so close to a place with so much significance to my family history?

Coincidence 2
In the course of our research we realised that dad was christened in Marlingford Church 85 years ago TODAY! 

Hopefully I will have the opportunity for more chats with dad and mum about family history in the near future. Watch out mum - you might be my next blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.