Buff tailed Bumble bee

Charlii, Rosie Robyn and I went for a return visit to the Watts cemetery at Compton today, it is such a stunning place to visit at the moment, and so peaceful........
While the others went off to look at the horses in the adjacent field, I used my time to look at the flowers growing in the cemetery and inspect them for insect life,
A large clump of heather yielded several species of queen bumble bee enjoying a nectar top up. 
This queen Bombus terrestris (well I think it is, if it is B. lucorum, then please feel free to correct me) , was still a little chilly and willing to climb into a sprig of heather for a welcome photoshoot, as you can see she is waving her leg at me, in their usual agitated manner.....I quickly put her back!!!
Warming up tomorrow, so maybe a trip to my local Southwater woods :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.