Pea weevil

What a lovely day! The sun has been shining, and all the insects have been coming out of hibernation, including the butterflies. I have seen, a Peacock, a Comma and about 3 Brimstones.....oh happy days <3.
I spent a wonderful hour in my front garden, photographing as many bugs as I could find, it was wonderful! 
I have s soft spot for weevils, they always look so clumsy compared to beetles, and they are often furry too. This little sweetie is a pea weevil Sitona lineatus, which is abundant throughout the UK. The 3.4 - 5.3 mm adults are just coming out of hibernation and will soon mate, in the meantime they nibble the edges of the unopened leaves of the host foliage producing characteristic U shaped notches around the edges of the leaves when they open,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.