carliewired

By carliewired

45th Annual Easter Parade

Vintage and classic
arranged in a line along
the route to the park

~ carliewired

Our local vintage car club had its annual parade starting in the north side of the city and winding through to the park in the downtown. Police and volunteers manned the route to keep traffic flowing. 

It was my first time driving the entire route. I drove to the marshaling area with my kids and our 1947 Plymouth, Daisy. We spent a couple of hours mingling with the onlookers and other owners.

 J, who owns the sister car to Daisy, has a beginner's license requiring an adult with a full license to accompany him in the car. His grandmother, who is not in good health, had come along this morning expecting to complete the trip with J. However, by the time the marshaling was near completion, she realized she needed to go home. J asked if I would ride in his car (1949 red Plymouth) so he would be legal to drive in the parade. I was happy to assist. I got to the park in J's car before Daisy arrived with my kids so I was able to take some photos as she arrived. 

Both my daughters had made a new outfit for the occasion. N was Daisy's driver, as usual. A prepared a picnic lunch which we enjoyed in the park. I had a chance to catch up with a couple of people I haven't seen since last fall. Then I did the return trip with J so he could get his car back home. 

We were blessed with a beautiful sunny day. I was amazed how many people showed up on the parade route heading into town. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.